Jeffrey P. Okeson, DMD

Okeson IAEthumb
Jeffrey P. Okeson, DMD
Chief, Division of Orofacial Pain
Director, Orofacial Pain Program
University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY
2:00 p.m.
Friday, June 29, 2018
International Academy of Endodontics, Annual Meeting
The Scottsdale Princess Resort
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
“The Non-odontogenic Toothache: A diagnostic challenge"
Differential diagnosis of orofacial pain is an extremely challenging aspect of the dental practice. Many pain conditions exist that mimic odontogenic or masticatory pain. Appropriate treatment and/or referral are predicated upon accurate identification of these diseases, syndromes, and clinical conditions. This presentation will provide a review of current basic concepts of pain mechanisms, pathways, and referral pattern in the head and neck. The clinical characteristics of 7 different non-odontogenic toothaches will be presented.


When are endodontic procedures not indicated for a toothache.


Attendees will: 

  1. Recognize and differentiate common orofacial pain disorders that may clinically present as a toothache.
  2. Be able to differentiate toothache of non-odontogenic from true odontogenic toothache.
  3. Describe seven different types of non-odontogenic toothaches and their management considerations.



University of Kentucky, Lexington KY

About the Presenter:
Dr. Okeson is Professor, Division Chief and Director of the Orofacial Pain Program, which he established in 1977. Dr. Okeson has more than 240 publications in the area of occlusion, TM disorders and orofacial pain in various national and international journals. He has authored two textbooks on TM disorders and orofacial pain, which have been translated into eleven different languages. Dr. Okeson is a very sought-after lecturer on the subject of TMD and orofacial pain and has presented more than 1200 invited lectures on the subject of TMD and orofacial pain in all 50 states and in 55 different countries. He has received numerous awards including “The International Dentist of the Year Award” from the Academy of Dentistry International. This is the highest award recognized by this Academy and was given to him in recognition of his worldwide efforts in providing education in the area of temporomandibular disorders and orofacial pain.